Quintana Roo, Mexico

Quintana Roo and Cancun   Cancun is the Mexico’s main tourist destination and is located in one of the youngest states in the Mexican Republic: the State of Quintana Roo, in the southeast of Mexico. It forms part of the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico and is bordered bye the states of Yucatan and Campeche as well as the neighboring countries of Beliza and Guatemala to the south and west. Cancun is a fabulous spot for outdoor activities such as diving and snorkeling in the coral reefs and cenotes, visiting a number of ecological reserves and scouting in the Mayan ruins of the area. Its annual temperature is 30°C. Its capital is the city of Chetumal, near the Belize border is the Mexico’s main tourist destination and is located in one of the youngest states. Quintana Roo has a very historical tradition, and it is even known as the door of the Mayan world. According to the Chilam Balam of Chumayel, the present territory of Quintana Roo was the first establishment of Itzaes, that coming from the south, founded on year 435 a.C. the city of Siyancaan Bakhalal, and years later with the mixture of Tolteca and Chichimeca cultures, would found Chichen Itza.   In the lapse of 987 to 1007 a.C., coming from Nonhual, the Indian head Ah Mekat Tutul settled down in Uxmal and founded the League of Confederation on Mayapan. The Mayan Zone is mainly rural and indigenous, splashed of small communities that conserve with fervor their customs, traditions and forms of life since two centuries ago. The zone is mainly made up of small farm communities inhabited by descendants of surviving rebels cruzoob of the War of Chaste, whose language is basically the Mayan. But there’s also Cancun, this great paradise that welcomes the tourists from all around the world.

Leave a Reply